Week 5

I started to work on the player mesh for the game. I worked in 3ds max and I followed the concept art that one of the other graphic member in my group had made. I started modeling from a box that was to be the torso. From that I extended and created the legs and the head. I made the arms on the side as the character turn around that I was modelling from had its arms painted on the side of its body. It was done so because it would be easier to see the shape of the torso from the side.
After adding some volume to the model I switched with kristoffer in my group who was working on the model for the guard. We did this so that we could go through each other work and see if one of us missed something. I only had to make some small changes to the model but I have to finish the armor ass kristoffer started to skin the player character. I had to finish the helmet on the character, the leg plats and the quiver on his back.
I then skinned the guard model and created a UV map so that we could add color to the model. I then started to create the bow for the guard as it would be easier to animate with the bow from the beginning. I used the old bow model but added a string to it mad in 3d and a new skeleton that worked with the string. Over all this took some time but work fine.

I then tested the models in MotionBuilder to see if the skeleton work fin and if the skinning was done well. I had to make a few changes to the skin around the shoulders as they needed to be higher.
I then created the base animation files for the player and guard. And did some test with updating the mesh with a new texture on. We needed to know if we needed to create the final texture before we did all of the animations but we had a feeling that it would work.
I then created the idle poses for the player and the guard with the nest texture so that we could create some screenshots that was required to hand in. Then I started working on the walking animations for the player and guard and will continue with next week.

Leave a comment